Posts Tagged ‘Preferences’

Getting rid of text-size parentheses: InDesign Secrets

Published by | Thursday, February 20th, 2014

Getting rid of text-size parentheses: InDesign Secrets

Explore InDesign Secrets at lynda.com.


Have you ever noted a second number in the Type Size field in Adobe InDesign? Set off in parentheses? For example, 12 pt (27.86). The first number is the original text size, the size you set, while the other is the new size after scaling.

You may find this information useful on occasion, but most designers find it annoying. The parentheses are due to a preference called Adjust Scaling Percentage, which used to be selected by default in older versions of InDesign. It’s a situation that’s remedied in InDesign CC, but sometimes the preference gets changed accidentally or you may find it turned on in a document from a designer that uses an older version of InDesign. This week in InDesign Secrets, Anne-Marie Concepción shows you how to change the preference, update text frames that have carried the preference with them, and get rid of those pesky parentheses.

How do you use lynda.com bookmarks?

Published by | Wednesday, June 30th, 2010

We introduced our new Bookmarks feature in the Online Training Library® back in January, and we’re curious how you’ve been using them. How often do you use them to mark and tag courses, chapters, individual video tutorials, and to mark specific points in a video in order to find a topic or technique again later? Do you add details to your bookmarks by clicking on the arrow next to the bookmark icon, or add tags to make it easier to sort your bookmarks?

Once you’ve bookmarked a place in a course or tutorial, how often have you found yourself going back and referencing them? [Click on Bookmarks in the My Training menu to see all the items you’ve bookmarked.]

If you haven’t been using bookmarks at all, we hope you’ll try them out. Start by watching the movie on how they work. If you decide you don’t like them, you can always disable them under Preferences > Bookmarks. Note: disabling doesn’t delete all of your bookmarks, it just tucks them away so you don’t have to look at them if you don’t want to. They’ll come back once you re-enable them.

Leave us a comment and let us know how (and if) you use the bookmark feature.